top of page
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Twitter

Beyond The Price Tag

Not too long ago I used to believe that the more something cost the better it must be.


I found this to be especially true when it came to beauty products, but I've recently learned that this is not always the case. The cost of a product does not necessarily translate into the effectiveness of the product.


I now know that the ingredients, technology and science behind a product matter much more and to my surprise it seems a lot of the time the cheaper product actually comes out on top in that regard.


I've also learned that every single person is different and so what may work for one person may not work for another. Finding a perfect product or routine is a mix of taking a look at what the product actually contains and making sure it suits the person, which is a game of trial and error.


During my trial and error period is when I realized that the price tag means absolutely nothing. I've had some high-end pricey products make my skin feel and look horrible and I've also had some that made it look and feel great. I've also had the same share of successes and failures with affordable drugstore products.


I've also tested out my fair share of products as a part of my job and for the most part its usually a one and done - meaning after I'm done I probably won't repurchase. However, there have also been some brands and products that have really stolen my heart and I find myself reaching for them as often as possible.


Some of the brands and products that currently hold a spot on this coveted list include:




1. Olay


I've had the opportunity to attend a few Olay launch events during which I learned a lot about the science behind Olay products from their principal scientists, Dr. Frauke Neuser and Dr. Maiysha D. Jones.


While, they had really sold me on Olay with her presentations, I personally put their body washes to the test vs. leading competitors and everything they said seemed to be true! This then led me to want to try more of their products and so far so good!


Some of their products currently in my rotation include the body lotion, body wash and Regenerist Retinol 24 Collection (will post a review about this after a few more uses!)




So, I'm not as familiar with Neutrogena's science, but I have been using this new collection for the past couple of months and I was pleasantly surprised by it.


The new Bright Boost collection was formulated by millennials for millennials. It promised to restore brightness and kick start tired, dull skin - which is exactly what it did for me.


In the past I have also tried products from the Hydro Boost collection and loved them.


Whats more is that the products are affordable and there are collections available for various skin concerns.





With every Fresh Beauty launch, there is almost always a story about where the ingredients for the new product came from and what inspired it.


The products are made from natural ingredients and derived from all around the world.


Having had the opportunity to meet one of the founders of the brand, Alina Roytberg and hearing her talk about the brand, I could see the passion and effort that goes into creating each product.


Having seen this really made me trust this brand and so far it has not let me down. Some products on rotation for me right now include their Vitamin Nectar Antioxidant Glow Water, Lotus Youth Preserve Dream Face Cream and their Vitamin Nectar Vitamin C Glow Powder. In the past, I have tried many more products from the brand and can comfortably say that no matter what you try it will probably be amazing.




Disclaimer: Some products mentioned in this post may have been provided to me complimentary, but all views are my own.

bottom of page